Dancing In The Street

Today we checked off one of the big local items that we’ve never gotten around to getting to seeing, the Motown Museum.  If you are a fan of music at all, then this is something you probably should go see.

My exposure to Motown music was primarily through car rides with my parents when the “oldies” station would be playing.  And today, while I don’t actively search for those songs, I do enjoy them when they come on the radio or I hear them elsewhere.  With that said, I never really knew the origins of Motown so it was definitely fun to see how it all began.

It is also mind-blowing to see some of these old advertisements and the legendary singers and groups that would be performing all as part of the same show.  This is just one example I could find, and there were others that were even more loaded than this one.  Wild.

It was pretty much all lost on the kids.  They wanted pictures of Studio A (the only part of the tour where you are allowed to take pictures), and that was fun seeing the very place where so many of those hits were recorded, but Luke said it best when the tour started “I’m only here because you made me come here.”

Five out of five stars, go check it out!

 

 

Leave a comment